X Close Menu


Our History

In 1967, in order to better serve its members who lived so far away, Mayo Baptist Church (along with the Henry County Baptist Association) began a mission in the Horsepasture area, with Rev. Jim Cravens serving as its pastor. On November 17, 1969, Rev. Ross Moyer was called as pastor of Hillcrest Baptist Church with 63 charter members. The Henry County Baptist Association deeded Hillcrest nearly five acres of land on Route 58 West in Horsepasture on December 16, 1970.

Construction of the church building began soon thereafter and was completed in May 1973. Since then, the building has been renovated or added onto five times, and now holds more than 20 classrooms, 5 offices, a 500 capacity sanctuary, a large social hall and adjoining modern kitchen, a youth fellowship/worship room, and a chapel for our Hispanic church plant, Iglesia Bautista Hillcrest.

Between 1973 and 1987, Rev. John Owen, Rev. Arvin Williams, Rev. Arnold Terry, and Rev. Jim Caparolie served as pastors, successively. On November 1, 1987, Douglas Ramsey was called to serve as Interim Pastor; and was voted in as Pastor June 1, 1988. Rev. Larry Jones (Jon) Parker served as Minister of Youth and Children from July 1999 through August 2005; and Rev. Jonathan Haskew was our Minister of Education/Outreach from April 2003 through May 2008. On March 19, 2006, Roger Jones was called a Minister of Youth & Children; on July 27, 2008, his title was changed to Associate Pastor/Youth and he served through November 2012. Rev. Clyde H. Murray became our second Associate Pastor (of Music & Worship) in August 2009 after Betsy Morris retired, having served as Choir Director for 40 years. Our Senior Pastor, Doug Ramsey, retired on September 26, 2010. Dr. Morgan Browning became our Senior Pastor on January 8, 2012 and served through January of 2013.

As of February 1, 2013, the church’s active membership is 489, and the Sunday School enrollment is 537 with an average attendance of 300. We are exceedingly grateful for God’s hand upon our church and His blessings throughout the years on our growing congregation who is loving, caring and obedient to Him.

1967 – Mayo Baptist Church and Henry County Baptist Association began a mission in the Horsepasture area
1969, Nov. 17 – 63 charter members founded Hillcrest Baptist Church in the Horsepasture Ruritan Building

1970 – Dec. 16, Henry County Baptist Association gave nearly 5 acres of land on US 58 West in Horsepasture. Construction began soon thereafter
1973 – May, Building completed and dedicated
1986 – Added educational space
1991 – New sanctuary, pastor's study, choir room, parlor, fellowship hall, and educational space added
1997 – 10,000 sq. ft., 2-level wing for social hall, youth room, other classrooms, and an enlarged and upgraded kitchen; expanded parking lot
2002 – 5,000 sq. ft., 2-level wing for offices and bigger youth room
2004 – Additional space for new choir room, classrooms, and expanded sanctuary

Pastors and Staff
1967-1968 – Rev. Jim Cravens
1968-1971 –Rev. Ross Moyer
1973- 1974 – Rev. John Owen
1974-1976 - Rev. Arvin Williams
1977-1980 -  Rev. Arnold Terry
1983-1987 – Rev. Jimmy Caparolie
1987-1988 – Douglas Ramsey (Interim)
1988–2010 – Rev. Douglas Ramsey (Senior Pastor, 1999-2010)
2009-present – Rev. Clyde H. Murray (Associate Pastor/Music and Worship)
2011-2012 – Rev. LTC J.D. Moore, US Army Chaplain (Interim Pastor)
2012-2013 – Dr. Morgan Browning (Senior Pastor)
2013-present - Rev. Brian Horrell (Student Pastor)
2015-2016 - Rev. J. Derek Futrell (Senior Pastor)
Present - Rev. Douglas Ramsey (Interim)